You are here

UN Political Declaration on HIV/AIDS

In 2011, representatives from United Nations member states met to discuss global progress on the HIV and AIDS response, looking forward to an eventual end of the HIV epidemic. This was in line with the sixth Millennium Development Goal (MDG 6) which was to combat HIV & AIDS, malaria and other diseases.

With this in mind, the 2011 Political Declaration on HIV/AIDS set down a list of 10 targets with goals to be met by 2015.

The 10 targets

  1. Reduce sexual transmission of HIV by 50%
  2. Halve the transmission of HIV among people who inject drugs
  3. Eliminate HIV infections among children and reduce maternal deaths
  4. Reach 15 million people living with HIV with lifesaving antiretroviral treatment
  5. Halve tuberculosis deaths among people living with HIV
  6. Close the global AIDS resource gap
  7. Eliminate gender inequalities and gender-based abuse and violence and increase the capacity of women and girls to protect themselves from HIV
  8. Eliminate HIV-related stigma, discrimination, punitive laws and practices
  9. Eliminate HIV-related restrictions on entry, stay and residence
  10. Strengthen HIV integration

The targets above contain links which will take you to pages detailing the current status of progress towards each of the 10 targets, as highlighted in the 2013 UNAIDS Global Report. 1

Every year, a UNAIDS report is released detailing what progress has been made towards the end of new HIV infections, AIDS-related deaths and HIV-related stigma and discrimination. It also emphasises areas in which progress is falling behind the rate required to meet the 2015 goals, and what needs to be done to combat the stagnation of that progress.


There are 22 priority countries; they have the highest number of pregnant women living with HIV, as recognised in the ‘Global Plan towards the elimination of new HIV infections among children by 2015 and keeping their mothers alive’, 2011. 2

These countries are: Angola, Botswana, Burundi, Cameroon, Chad, C ôte d’Ivoire, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Ethiopia, Ghana, India, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, South Africa, Swaziland, Uganda, United Republic of Tanzania, Zambia, and Zimbabwe. India is the only country not in Africa.


expand >
collapse >
Page last reviewed: 

Average: 4.1 (8 votes)
Your rating: None

We are unable to respond to any personal questions, or offer advice or information in relation to personal matters.

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.